Skip to main content

Managing Environments

Learn how to create and delete environments.

Environment Create#

To create and environment:

  • Click the Environments tab on the navigation menu to the left.
  • In the top right corner, select the Create Environment button.
  • In the form, enter a name for this environment (usually the name of your application you are building) and an optional description.
  • Click Create Environment. You will be taken to the environment dashboard.

Default or Stack#

When creating a stack there is an option to create the environment with a stack. Selecting this option will prompt the user to select both a stack and a stack build to use for the initial deployment of the stack to the environment upon environment creation.

Selecting Default will create the environment without any initial user containers.

Legacy Networking#

If legacy networking is selected during environment create, Cycle will give each container instance an IPv4 address alongside the default IPv6 address. These addresses have a maximum of 255 per container as the reserved space is a /24 on the 10.* IPv4 address space per container.

The discovery service in a legacy environment will still return IPv6 addresses for lookups if they are requested, so containers listening on IPv6 can still be reached. However, Cycle does not exclude them from the IPv4 allotment and as such the maximum of 255 instances is still in place.

Environment Settings#

When on the environment dashbaord, a user can click on the Settings tab via the horizontal navigation links to bring up the environment settings page. This page has options to change the settings for the name, description, and add/remove the environment as a favorite.

Environment Name#

Name - The name of the environment as shown on the Environment select screen and displayed in the breadcrumb at the top of the screen.

Environment Description#

Description - A description of the containers or applications deployed to the environment.

Environment Favorite#

Favorite - A checkbox where checked means the environment is set to favorite and will show up at the top of the Environments select screen, with a .

Delete Environment#

A user can also choose to delete the environment on this page. Deleting the environment requires the user to enter the name of the environment into the delete form and then hold down the delete button.

Delete is Permanent

Deleting an environment will delete the environment and all associated containers within. You can not reverse this action.