Updating & Deleting Stacks

Need to change the name of your stack, or delete it? Follow this guide.

All functionality for updating or deleting stacks is found on the "Settings" tab of a specific stack. To get to that page, follow these steps:

  1. Click Stacks in the nav menu on the left hand side.
  2. Select the stack you want to build from the list.
  3. Select the Settings tab located underneath the name of the stack.

Updating a Stack

You can only change the name of a stack once it has been created. This is done to keep the stack builds atomic. If you need to change the source, please delete the stack and import a new one.

From the settings tab, locate the "Update Stack" form on the left hand side. Change the name to whatever you'd like, then click Update Stack.

Deleting a Stack

If you've decided you no longer need a stack and wish to delete it, you will first need to delete the environments that the stack is deployed to. This is done to prevent accidental removal of running containers.

Once the environments the stack is deployed to have been removed, go back to the Settings tab of the stack you wish to delete, locate the delete form on the right-hand side. Enter the name of the stack into the box, and click Delete Stack.

Deleting a stack will also delete all builds and build logs ever generated for that stack. This cannot be undone.

Need Help?

If you've got questions about the platform or need some help getting started, our team is more than happy to assist. Whether you're new to containers or just new to Cycle, reach out to us via livechat by clicking the blue circle in the bottom right corner. Join our Slack channel, and get help from the dev team or other members of the community, and check out our Roadmap to see what's planned for the future!